An island institution for over 140 years, The Round House Bar is synonymous with summers on Put-in-Bay. Once their iconic “Whiskey” light up on, it is time to head to The Round House and party all day, and night, long.
The Round House Bar History
The building that now houses The Round House opened in 1873. Originally called the Columbia Restaurant, it was one of the first places to keep things cool during the summer. The clever residents of Put-in-Bay collected ice from Lake Erie in the winter. They housed the blocks in what is now the Put-in-Bay Winery and used it for such prized delicacies like ice cream and cottage cream. These treats were so popular, huge banners huge from the building announcing their availability.
The famed circular bar was built by the Greunke family in 1944, giving it its signature look and namesake. The Cincinnati Brewing Company built it and Mrs. Greunke would play piano for concerts “in the round.” They later build the stage that is there today so musicians would always face the audience.
The McCann family, who has owned The Round House since the early 1950’s added the bright red, white, and blue color scheme. Artist Scott LoBadio painted the outside and two island girls sewed the “parachute” that hangs from the ceiling. This is actually flame-retardant fabric. Canoe Bob, a local artists, painted the murals inside.
The Round House Celebrates Summer
An airy, vast bar with a great indoor/outdoor feel, the whole place is warm and inviting. The drinks are strong and cold and live music is usually playing in the afternoon and evening. Ray Fogg performs his unique blend of comedy and music, and Mike “Mad Dog” Adams and the Killer Flamingos play rock into the night.
Located right next to The Park Hotel, come party all summer long at The Round House, a Put-in-Bay favorite.